NOAA Logo National Centers for Environmental Information

formerly the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)...  more on NCEI

NOAA Satellite and Information Service

You are here: Home > Access Data > Ocean Archive System > seanames_id: 37

The Ocean Archive System searches our original datasets as they were submitted to us, not individual points or profiles. If you want to search and retrieve ocean profiles in a common format, or objectively analyzed fields, your better option may be to use one of our project applications. See: Access Data

OAS seaname Detail for Arafura Sea

Seaname:Arafura Sea
Sea code:48H
Definition:The limits of the Arafura Sea, situated between the northern coast of Australia and the southeastern coast of Irian Jaya, and bounded on the North by the Aru Sea, on the East by the Torres Strait, on the Southeast by the Gulf of Carpentaria, and on the West by the Timor Sea, are the following: On the North: A line joining Cape Aro Usu (8 Degrees 20 Minutes 20 Seconds S - 130 Degrees 45 Minutes 20 Seconds E), the southwestern extremity of Selaru Island, eastward to Cape Salah (8 Degrees 25 Minutes S - 137 Degrees 38 Minutes E), the southwestern extremity of Dolak Island, on the southern coast of Irian Jaya (the common limit with the Aru Sea, see 6.17); and thence from Cape Salah southeastward, along the southern coasts of Dolak Island and Irian Jaya, to the mouth of Torassi River (9 Degrees 08 Minutes S - 141 Degrees 01 Minutes E), the frontier between Irian Jaya and Papua New Guinea. On the East: A line joining the mouth of Torassi River southeastward to Slade Point (10 Degrees 59 Minutes S - 142 Degrees 07 Minutes 35 Seconds E), on the northwestern coast of Cape York Peninsula, in Australia (the common limit with the South Pacific Ocean, see 8., and the Torres Strait, see 8.3) On the South: A line joining Slade Point westward to Cape Arnhem (12 Degrees 20 Minutes 50 Seconds S - 136 Degrees 58 Minutes 30 Seconds E), on the coast of Northern Territory (the common limit with the Gulf of Carpentaria, see 6.15); and thence from Cape Arnhem westward, along the coast of Northern Territory, to Cape Don (11 Degrees 18 Minutes 30 Seconds S - 131 Degrees 46 Minutes E). On the West: A line joining Cape Don, in Australia, northwestward to Cape Usu (8 Degrees 20 Minutes 20 Seconds S - 130 Degrees 45 Minutes 20 Seconds E), the southwestern extremity of Selaru Island, Indonesia (the common limit with the Timor Sea, see 6.13).
Citation:Limits of Oceans and Seas, 1986 (Draft 4th edition). IHB Special Publication 23, International Hydrographic Bureau, 203p.
Metadata version:0
Keydate:2000-09-13 04:00:00+00
Editdate:2000-10-24 04:00:00+00