NOAA Logo National Centers for Environmental Information

formerly the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)...  more on NCEI

NOAA Satellite and Information Service

You are here:HomeGTSPP › About GTSPP


We are very grateful to the following for contributions to the compilation of this scientific quality data set: Rick Bailey (CSIRO/BMRC JAFOOS), Lisa Cowen (CSIRO/BMRC JAFOOS), Yeun-Ho Chong Daneshzadeh (AOML), Ann Gronell (CSIRO/JAFOOS), Norman Hall (US NODC), Bob Keeley (MEDS), Melanie Hamilton (US NODC), Roger Menard (MEDS), Marguerette Schultz (SIO), Bob Molinari (AOML), Michael Simmons (US NODC), Don Spear (MEDS), Charles Sun (US NODC), Loic Petit de la Villeon (IFREMER), and Warren White (SIO).

Special thanks are extended to Thierry Carval (IFREMER), Steve Diggs (SIO), Peter Jackson (CSIRO), Doug Hamilton (US NODC), Gary Meyers (CSIRO), Helen Phillips (CSIRO), Yvette Raguenes (IFREMER), Jean-Paul Rebert (IRD), Neil Smith (Australia BMRC), Neville Smith (Australia BMRC), Edwina Tanner (Australia NODC) and Ron Wilson (MEDS) for their contributions.

Many agencies have played important roles in the development of the GTSPP system. The most important contributors are the collectors of the original data. Without their efforts, this compilation of data and information would not have been possible. Each participating agency carries out a number of functions in handling the data for the GTSPP.

Thanks are also due to other agencies who have provided data feeds, organization and ideas in the development and running of the system. These include the Japanese Oceanographic Data Centre, the Japanese Meteorological Agency, the Bundesamt für Seeschiffahrt, the Australian Oceanographic Data Centre, the Surface and Subsurface Data Centre in Brest, the U.S. Fleet Numerical Oceanographic Center.